[How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

If you feel like helping out the new ones.

[How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Harboe » 19 Nov 2015 15:01

HOW TO

Bring back the LOGOUT button



With update 4.9, the logout button no longer exists in the System Menu you see when you press Escape or O. So, it's no longer possible to change account without restarting your client. We refuse to accept that, so here's a fix that brings back the Logout button.


Download

zdata.pak: https://notaion.com/launcher/zdata.pak


Instructions

Put zdata.pak in the folder L10N\ENU\data\ relative to your main Aion directory.

If you have Aion installed to the default directory, the path is: C:\Program Files (x86)\NCWest\Aion\L10N\ENU\data\

After putting zdata.pak in the correct place, (re)start your Aion client. If you did it right, you will now have the Logout button in the System Menu.


Alternative Patch

If you're having issues with zdata.pak (anything really), you can try the full mod version.

Download: https://notaion.com/launcher/data.pak

Instructions: open the folder L10N\ENU\data and rename data.pak to something like data.pak_bak or move the file to your root Aion folder. Now copy the newly downloaded data.pak from the link to the folder. Start Aion and voila!


Installed patch but no logout button appears?

Since 5.0 you may have to restart your computer before the patch starts working. So, try restarting your computer and launching up Aion and the logout button should be there.


Regards,
Harboe
User avatar
Harboe
Founder
 
Posts: 8115
Joined: 17 Mar 2011 16:09
Character: Harbkind

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Melon » 19 Nov 2015 15:41

Harboe wrote:it's no longer possible to change account without restarting your client

Alternatively one can also cause a disconnect (through blocking with firewall for example) and click on the reconnect button to instantly get to the log-in screen.
Melon
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 13 Aug 2015 13:21

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Harboe » 19 Nov 2015 15:47

That's not very delicate for the average user though. It's a lot easier to just use my patch to re-add the button :)
User avatar
Harboe
Founder
 
Posts: 8115
Joined: 17 Mar 2011 16:09
Character: Harbkind

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Meanz » 19 Nov 2015 19:23

I'm getting a "Failed to initialize the game" error.
Image
User avatar
Meanz
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Mar 2014 22:28

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Harboe » 19 Nov 2015 20:05

And it's being caused by the zdata.pak? As in, when you remove it, all is good?
User avatar
Harboe
Founder
 
Posts: 8115
Joined: 17 Mar 2011 16:09
Character: Harbkind

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Dei » 19 Nov 2015 20:10

Meanz wrote:I'm getting a "Failed to initialize the game" error.

I hope you didnt delete the original data.pak and renamed the zdata to data.
Dei
Ancient
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 21:06

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Harboe » 19 Nov 2015 21:15

I certainly hope not lol
User avatar
Harboe
Founder
 
Posts: 8115
Joined: 17 Mar 2011 16:09
Character: Harbkind

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby InsertyourUsername » 19 Nov 2015 21:43

will that work on retail also?
When a bird hits your window have you ever wondered if God is playing angry birds with you?
User avatar
InsertyourUsername
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Oct 2015 20:57

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Harboe » 19 Nov 2015 21:46

No. Retail blocks login attempts from the client log in screen. You will simply get an error.
User avatar
Harboe
Founder
 
Posts: 8115
Joined: 17 Mar 2011 16:09
Character: Harbkind

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Serenity » 19 Nov 2015 23:17

will this modify my retail client in a way that does not allow me to use retail?
Serenity
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 25 Apr 2013 21:52
Location: Somewhere over there

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Dei » 20 Nov 2015 03:40

Serenity wrote:will this modify my retail client in a way that does not allow me to use retail?

nope.
Dei
Ancient
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 21:06

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Meanz » 21 Nov 2015 17:33

@Dei: No, I didn't.

@Harb: Yes. that was the case. I did a repair and it magically fixed itself though.
Image
User avatar
Meanz
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Mar 2014 22:28

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Harboe » 21 Nov 2015 17:57

If you had to repair, then zdata.pak wasn't the issue. Simply deleting the file would remove the fix and therefore not cause any issues.

So if you had to repair to fix it, then zdata.pak wasn't the problem.
User avatar
Harboe
Founder
 
Posts: 8115
Joined: 17 Mar 2011 16:09
Character: Harbkind

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Meanz » 21 Nov 2015 23:35

Quite possible. I might have screwed something else up along the way. Anyways, works like a charm now!
Image
User avatar
Meanz
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Mar 2014 22:28

Re: [How-to] Bring back the LOGOUT button

Postby Yes » 22 Nov 2015 02:39

god bless
User avatar
Yes
Pro
 
Posts: 744
Joined: 02 Dec 2012 19:25

Next

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests